Rhode Island

Rhode Island State Laws 2018

Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine

Possession

Personal Use

Less than 1 oz Civil Violation None $ 150
1 oz – 1 kg Misdemeanor 1 year $ 500

With Intent to Distribute

1 – 5 kg Felony 10* – 50 years $ 500,000
More than 5 kg Felony 25 years* – life $ 100,000
Within 300 yards of a school may result in double penalty.
1 kg is approximately 35 oz
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Sale or Cultivation

Less than 1 kg Felony 30 years $ 100,000
1 – 5 kg Felony 10* – 50 years $ 500,000
More than 5 kg Felony 20 years* – life $ 10,000
To a minor at least three years younger Felony 2 – 5 years $ 100,000
Within 300 yards of a school may result in double penalty.
1 kg is approximately 35 oz
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Hash & Concentrates

Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.

Paraphernalia

Manufacture, sale, delivery, or possession with intent to sell or deliver Not Classified 2 years $ 5,000
Delivery to a person under 18 years Not Classified 5 years $ 5,000

Miscellaneous

Possession while driving will result in a driver’s license suspension for a period of 6 months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X