Select Page

Maine State Laws 2019

Maine State Laws 2019
Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine

Possession

2.5 oz or less No penalty None $ 0
More than 2.5 – 8 oz Crime 6 months $ 1,000
More than 8 oz – 1 lb Crime 1 year $ 2,000
More than 1 – 20 lbs Crime 5 years $ 5,000
More than 20 lbs Crime 10 years $ 20,000
Public use of marijuana is a civil infraction punishable by a $100 fine.
Possession of a “usable amount” with proof of a physician’s recommendation is not punishable.

Sale or Distribution

1 lb or less Crime 1 year $ 2,000
More than 1 – less than 20 lbs Crime 5 years $ 5,000
20 lbs or more Crime 10 years $ 20,000
To a minor or within 1000 feet of a school or school bus Crime 5 years $ 5,000

Cultivation

3 plants or less No penalty None $ 0
More than 3 – less than 100 plants Crime 1 year $ 2,000
100 – less than 500 plants Crime 5 years $ 5,000
500 plants or more Crime 10 years $ 20,000

Hash & Concentrates

Up to 5 g No penalty None $ 0
More than 5 g Crime 1 year $ 2,000
Trafficking Crime 5 years $ 5,000
Trafficking (prior conviction, use of minor, other) Crime 10 years $ 20,000

Paraphernalia

Possession of paraphernalia No penalty None $ 0
Sale of paraphernalia Crime 6 months $ 1,000
Sale to a minor younger than 16 years of age Crime 1 year $ 2,000

Miscellaneous

Driver’s license restriction will be imposed for aggravated furnishing any amount of pot or hash.

SOURCE:NORML

Event Calendar

<< May 2019 >>
MTWTFSS
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Upcoming Events

Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Instagram