Select Page

Iowa State Laws 2019

Iowa State Laws 2019
Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine

Possession

Any amount (first offense) Misdemeanor 6 months $ 1,000
Any amount (second offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,875
Any amount (third offense) Misdemeanor 2 years $ 6,250
Offenders who are chronic abusers of marijuana may be sent to rehab.

Cultivation or Distribution

50 kg or less Felony 5 years $ 7,500
More than 50 – 100 kg Felony 10 years $ 50,000
More than 100 – 1000 kg Felony 25 years $ 100,000
More than 1000 kg Felony 50 years $ 1,000,000
Involving a minor Felony 5* – 25 years $ 100,000
To a minor within 1000 feet of a park, elementary or middle school, or school bus Felony 10 years* $ 100,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence
Distribution includes possession with intent to distribute

Hash & Concentrates

Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana except in one circumstance. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.

Paraphernalia

Possession, distribution, or manufacture of paraphernalia Misdemeanor 6 months $ 1,000

Miscellaneous

Sponsoring, promoting, or assisting in a gathering where marijuana will be used, distributed, or possessed Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,875
Possession with intent to sell large amounts can lead to an automatic driver’s license suspension.

SOURCE: NORML

Event Calendar

<< Oct 2019 >>
MTWTFSS
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3

Upcoming Events

    No events

Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Instagram